Skip to main content

Rutland Information Service

Rutland County Council

Rutland County Council is a unitary authority responsible for local government in Rutland, based at Catmose House in the Historic Market Town of Oakham, they also maintain a highways site on Station Approach Oakham.

Existing as an independent authority since 1 April 1997 when Rutland left Leicestershire to reclaim it's own identity, historically Rutland County Council began in 1889 when it was established under the Local Government Act 1888.

The Council is Responsible for:

  • Education
  • Transport
  • Planning
  • Social Care
  • Libraries
  • Waste Management
  • Recycling
  • Council Tax Collections
  • Housing
  • Planning Applications

Other Services, such as Fire and Saftey, Police and Trading standards are shared with Either Leicestershire County Council or Peterborough City Council.

Who to contact

Contact Name
Customer Services Advisor
Contact Position
Staff Member
01572 722 577
Related Services
Rutland Mobile Library
Transport Operations
Fostering & Adoption Service - Rutland County Council
Education Officer/ Learning and Skills
School Admissions
Parish Councils of Rutland
Rutland County Council Job Vacancies
Ryhall Library
Ketton Library

Where to go

Rutland County Council
Catmose House
Catmos Street
LE15 6HP

Time / Date Details

When is it on
8:30 - 17:00 Monday - Thursday
8:30 - 16:30 Friday
Closed Weekends

Other Details


There is no cost for visiting the Council, however Car Parks are charged. Catmose Cark Park charges are Up to 1/2 Hour - 40p Up to 1 Hour - 80p Up to 2 hours - £1.60 Up to 3 hours - £2.40 Over 3 hours on day of issue - £4.00 To pay by RingGo please use RingGo 4185

This page was last updated on: 16/04/2018

Back to top