Skip to main content

Rutland Information Service

Faith Vanne - Personal Assistant

Personal statement

I am an enthusiastic, caring and motivated person who is comfortable in a variety of working environments and am willing to work on my own or with others. I have worked with children and adults with additional needs, this has helped to enhance my communication skills and has broadened my knowledge on how to effectively care for those with varying abilities.

I have volunteered and now work at an SEND youth group for over 5 years, the members of the group have a wide variety of different needs (Autism, Asperges, Downs syndrome, Hearing impairment and Visual impairment). The staff often rely on me to care for some of the more complex needs young people as I have great success in encouraging them and supporting them when joining in in activities. I have also planned and lead some activities during the sessions ensuring the activities are accessible for everyone in the group.

During my work placement at Birchwood special school I found it very enlightening and the experience confirmed that this was the area I would like to work in. I worked in a class with other teaching assistants and with 10 children all with different SEND, during my 5 months there I had built strong bonds between staff and children, I was asked on a few occasions to come in on extra days when staff were off as the children where more comfortable with me rather than supply staff.

A few parents and I noticed that there was a lack of groups/activities for 18+ with special needs to be able to do similar things to others of their age. So we decided to create a group called Out of Hours Club Rutland which aims to help build confidence, friendships and social independence. As a group we go bowling, to local pub for a meal and pool, to the cinema and theatre performances, as well as other activities and the group member’s parents have already noticed how the young people’s confidence and social skills have developed.

I have been a Personal Assistant since 2013 and have independently taken individuals/clients out and supported them at activities and day courses such as Swimming, Dancing, Sailing, Cinema trips, Photography Coures and at The Melton Learning hub.

About the PA

The PA has...
Use of own transport; Full Driving License; Current DBS/CRB check
Telephone(s)
07989302350
Email
fjvanne@hotmail.com
Age
22
Gender
Female
Speaks
English
Can help with
Support with Work or Study; Support with Activities; Cooking; Sitter / short breaks; Personal Hygiene; Transport; Personal Care
Able to work in
Oakham South West; Ryhall and Casterton; Martinsthorpe; Lyddington; Oakham North West; Whissendine; Oakham South East; Uppingham; Normanton; Oakham North East; Langham; Cottesmore; Braunston and Belton; Ketton; Exton
Is a smoker?
No

Availability

Notes

Avalability may vary, start and end times may change depending on travel time needed between clients.

Salary / Other information

Salary notes

My Rate is £12 per hour,

0.45p per mile while the client is in the vehicle,

Any entrance fees or expenses while with the client must payed by the client  

Can work with ages
4 - 16; 16 - 25
Back to top